April 03, 2019

The team from the Columbus School of Law

The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law was crowned the 2019 National Champion last weekend at the National Trial Competition in San Antonio, Texas. It is the first national trial championship in the law school’s history. CUA Law joins an elite group of only twenty-one other law schools that have ever won the title. Representing CUA were students Vania Smith (3E) and Jennifer Brooker (3E), coached by National Trial Team directors John N. Sharifi and Lindsey Cloud Mervis.

The National Trial Competition is co-sponsored by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) and the American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL). It is widely thought to be the most coveted trial competition in the country. The competition attracts teams from more than 140 law schools and involves more than 1,000 law students each year. Nationwide regional competitions are held every February, during which the two top finishers qualify for the national competition. Thirty regional winners then compete for the championship.

The national competition was held in San Antonio, Texas, from March 28 – March 30 and centered on a securities fraud case titled United States v. Jordan Belfort. CUA Law’s preparation, advocacy, and determination carried them through the quarter and semi-finals, and into the final against five-time champion Stetson University School of Law.

Continue reading at the Columbus School of Law website