February 01, 2021
Julio Bermudez

Julio Bermudez, professor of architecture and planning, has been named a Distinguished Professor in the 2021 Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) Architectural Education Awards. 

This award is given annually by the ACSA “to recognize individuals that have had a positive, stimulating, and nurturing influence upon students over an extended period of time and/or teaching which inspired a generation of students who themselves have contributed to the advancement of architecture.”

“Julio has distinguished himself in architectural education internationally for over 30 years, 10 of them at The Catholic University of America. The originality, depth, and extent of his research informs his probing and nurturing approach to teaching,” says Mark Ferguson, dean of the School of Architecture and Planning

“Under Juilio’s guidance, students from their earliest years at the school through their graduate thesis projects are encouraged to think deeply about design and their emerging design voice. Students and faculty alike seek his wisdom and insights. The school community is enormously enriched by Julio's energy, brilliance, and the care he shows for each one of us.”  

The Distinguished Professor Award is one of the highest honors the ACSA can bestow upon an educator. The ACSA is an international association of architecture schools that includes all the accredited professional degree programs in the United States and Canada.

“Studying and teaching architecture has been my life's work,” Bermudez says. “Therefore, receiving this recognition from my peers, perhaps the highest an architecture faculty member can ever hope for, is a source of great joy and fulfillment. It certainly pushes me to redouble my commitment to architectural education and the world we serve. I want to dedicate this award to my family, friends, colleagues, and, in particular, to my students.”

The ACSA represents over 200 schools with more than 6,000 faculty (educating 40,000 students). There are usually five (sometimes fewer) Distinguished Professor Awards given each year. It has been 30 years since another CatholicU professor received this distinction. Forrest Wilson was named Distinguished Professor in 1991.